The Photographer Of The Lost

Regular price £8.99

A BBC RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB PICK**For fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and 1917 comes a moving story about how hope and love will prevail against all odds. 'This excellent debut is a melancholic reminder of the rippling after-effects of war' The Times 'A touching novel of love and loss' Sunday Times 1921 In the aftermath of war, everyone is searching for answers. Edie's husband Francis never came home and was declared 'missing, believed killed'.

But when she receives a mysterious photograph of him in the post, hope flares and she begins to search. Harry photographs gravesites on the Western Front, hired by grieving families. Plagued by memories of his last conversation with Francis, he has never stopped searching for his brother.

After years apart, their search brings them together. As they uncover the truth they are haunted by the past and their own complex feelings - towards Francis, and towards each other. Are some questions better left unanswered? Perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell and Helen Dunmore, The Photographer of the Lost is a beautiful novel, inspired by real events in the wake of the First World War, about love and loss, grief and guilt, and the fleeting, fragile moments of life.

Praise for The Photographer of the Lost: 'There's only one word for this novel... and that's epic... A beautifully written must-read' heat 'A gripping, devastating novel about the lost and the ones they left behind' Sarra Manning, RED 'Terrific first novel' Daily Mail 'Scott has done an amazing job of drawing on real stories to craft a powerful novel' Good Housekeeping 'A deeply poignant and immersive novel